An important part of the student’s preparation for adult life is to develop a positive attitude toward attendance through a responsible attendance pattern in school. We believe that every course emphasizes the participation of students and needs their committed, regular presence to allow for the greatest educational success. No classroom activity or experience can ever fully be replicated outside that time and place of its environment. As a result, students need to miss as few classes as possible. Student absences can hamper course progress and lead to increased work for students and teachers in attempting to make up for lost experiences. Oregon Law (ORS 339.065) requires regular attendance. Parents or guardians of a child who has not completed the twelfth grade are required to enroll the child and maintain the child in regular school attendance. Regular attendance as defined by Oregon Law is attendance that does not include more than eight (8) unexcused one-half day absences, or the equivalent, in any four (4) week period school is in session. Any student may be excused from attendance by the district school board for a period not to exceed five (5) days in a term of three months or not to exceed 10 days in any term of at least six months. Please be advised that failure to comply with Oregon’s compulsory attendance law is a Class “C” violation and may result in a compulsory attendance citation (up to $500.00) with final determination by a court.
ORS 581-023-0006(4), (6) requires school districts to withdraw from the school’s active enrollment, any
student who is absent for ten (10) consecutive days.
Automated Absent Phone Calls will be made to parents/guardians at the following times:
● Elementary: 30-60 minutes after the start of school
● Middle School: Between 11:05-11:35 (one hour later on Wednesday late start)
● High School: Between 10:05-10:50 and at 6:05pm